Introduction of myself

As this is my first post I thought the only right thing to do would be to introduce myself and tell you my thoughts about football.

Growing up I always used to watch Champions League on TV, and since the first time I saw Barcelona play it’s always been the team for me. I can’t remember specifically how old I was back then but I was around six or seven years of age. At that time I wasn’t interested in Finnish football at all and that meant I developed a greater and greater love for a team which is not a local team of mine. But that’s just the way things have panned out.

At the time of writing this I am 16 years of age and I’ve now watched football regularly for around 9 years, but the amount I watch has increased dramatically during the last four years. In around three of these years I’ve watched every Blaugrana game with the exception of around five games when I simply haven’t been able to due to different events.

I appreciate intelligent and beautiful football such as the football played during Pep’s years as manager of Barcelona. This kind of football, originally based on Johan Cruyff and his thoughts on how football should be played, is one of the reasons why I appreciate Cruyff and what he did for world football so highly. As quoted by Cruyff himself, “Playing football is very simple, but playing simple football is the hardest thing there is”.

After mentioning all this love for simple football I must also add that I’ve learnt to appreciate different kinds of football, for example route one football and football based on hard-work and tough play, therefore I’d personally say I have more than one perspective of football and can see why other people think differently compared to me.

As my final words I’d like to add that I’ll concentrate on whatever interests me, and that can vary from time to time, so expect different topics every single post.

Isak

Leave a Reply

